AFSCME Local 315 members filled an important gap in the Inyo County community this summer by holdin

For months, our union was preparing for the Janus v. AFSCME case by taking steps to ensure we grow stronger despite the setback we anticipated.

The Janus case was an attempt to deliver a knockout blow to millions of working people and their families who looked to the Supreme Court as an independent institution that advances equal

AFSCME Local 258 member Kate Ramos, a library technician at Samuel Jackman Middle School, was recently named AFSCME Employee of the Year by the Elk Grove Unified School District.

Council 57 is pleased to announce the hiring of a new Executive Director, Michael Seville.

After an extensive nationwide search—with a rigorous screening and interview process— the Council 57 Executive Board unanimously agreed that Seville is the right choice to lead Council 57 forward, especially with the fresh challenges facing working people and our pressing need to increase union power and fight back against threats.

Kay Khan, a licensed vocational nurse at Fair Oaks Health Clinic.

AFSCME Local 829member Kay Khan and her husband had been planning their vacation to India for months when the President’s administration implemented its “Muslim ban,” which targeted immigrants from several countries in the Middle East.

The Council 57 Delegates held an election in April for the new Executive Board.

With a two-year term comes a new Council president, vice president, secretary and several first-time Executive Board members. The treasurer and a number of board members were re-elected.

We recently caught up with the board members to get to know them a little better and find out what are their goals to make our Union stronger over the coming years.

Ruben Rodriguez
Local 444

California lawmakers took their first look in April at establishing a “Medicare for All” healthcare system, and labor unions were in strong support.

AFSCME Council 57 is the latest political heavyweight to vote for Kimberly Ellis to lead and represent statewide democrats as the next California Democratic Party Chair.